New Government Security Classifications

ONR logo 150Sellafield Ltd’s security regulator, ONR (Office for Nuclear Regulation), has instructed Sellafield Ltd and the wider civil nuclear industry to adopt the new GSC protective marking scheme known as Government Security Classifications (GSC).

In 2012 Francis Maude, Minister for the Cabinet Office, announced the intention to fundamentally overhaul and replace the existing information classification and marking scheme as part of the government’s Civil Service Reform programme.

Government Security Classifications

The new three tier system has three classifications: OFFICIAL, SECRET and TOP-SECRET.

Additionally ONR have mandated the use of an additional classification: OFFICIAL-SENSITIVE for Sensitive Nuclear Information which is classified below SECRET.

Implementing GSC

In line with the rest of UK government, the new GSC scheme is coming into operation on April 2nd 2014. All documents (including commercial correspondence, drawings, specifications, data sheets etc) created by Sellafield Ltd after this date for issue to suppliers will carry the new markings. Documents created prior to this date will continue to carry their existing markings until such time as they are amended in the normal course of work when the new markings will be applied at the same time.

You can find more information about GSC and implementing GSC by following this

Link to Core Briefing for 3rd Party Suppliers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.