The Characteristics of an Effective Nuclear Regulator

nea 200This report has been prepared by the Committee on Nuclear Regulatory Activities CNRA Task Group on the Characteristics of an Effective Regulator and is based on discussions and input from members of the group as well as information from a wide array of documents produced by the NEA,its member countries and other international organisations.

The OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) was established on 1 February 1958. Current NEA membership consists of 31 countries: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, the Republic of Korea, the Russian Federation, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States. The European Commission also takes part in the work of the Agency.

Following a special topical discussion held on the characteristics of an effective regulator at the 27th CNRA meeting on 4-5 June 2012 [1] and subsequent discussions at the 28th CNRA meeting on 3-4 December 2012 [2], the CNRA decided that a “green booklet” on The Characteristics of an Effective Nuclear Regulator would be a timely and appropriate addition to this resource on key contemporary nuclear regulatory issues. A senior-level task group (STG) was therefore established with the remit to prepare a regulatory guidance report on the characteristics of an effective nuclear regulator.

You can download the report here.